Granny Square Afghan

Generally speaking, I prefer to make quick, small projects. Who can pass up the instant gratification of something make in a few hours? Slippers, hats, and scarves make up the bulk of my finished objects.

50" x 50" Granny Square Afghan

I’m sure that I’ve never made a full size afghan before because of how long it takes to complete one. I have literally been working on my granny square afghan for months: ten months to be exact.

It began life with the idea of using all of the scraps of acrylic yarn I had sitting around. Each little yarn scrap holds a memory of previous projects including the very first thing I ever made with yarn ( a loom knit hat).

I used the granny square tutorial posted on the PurlBee blog. The instructions were clear and simple to follow. Every square has a final round crocheted in gray the used single crochet (in the same gray color) to join the squares together.

The final size is roughly 50″ square. The border is a round of single crochet followed by a round of reverse single crochet.

Close Up of Border

I’ve learned two things from this afghan: 1)I need to learn a better way to weave in yarn tails because after I washed and dried my blanket the tails popped out and more than one square came unraveled, and 2)I am not crazy about how the squares were joined together. In the future, I will try other seaming techniques.

I’m working on another afghan made with a different type of granny square. It’s a long way from completion but I love the colors and am looking forward to snuggling up with it.

3 thoughts on “Granny Square Afghan

  1. If you make your tails longer on purpose and then after completing each square, weave them in with a needle for that purpose, it will be much easier. I recommend you check out Attic24’s blog as I use her crochet as you go method for squares and she has wonderful tips for granny square afghans. If you are not on Ravelry, I suggest you check it out. http://www.ravelry.com

  2. Pingback: Afghans, Afghans Everywhere | GretchKal's Yarny Adventures

Leave a Reply

