WIP: Bell Sleeved Shrug

Lately it seems like I’ve got a thing for knitting cream colored shrugs. I cast on this cute little shrug (also available on Ravelry) designed by Brooke Snow almost immediately after finishing my circular shrug in almost exactly the same color as my circular shrug. So far I’m very pleased with how it’s turning out.

by jeaniewh on Flckr

I’ve made a few modifications. The original pattern is knit flat and then the sleeves are seamed up afterwards. I am knitting the sleeves in the round to avoid have seaming. I’m then handling the middle section by knitting it back and forth. Also, I’m using a different yarn: the pattern calls for 2 skeins of Lion Brand Wool Ease but I’m using Lion Brand Jiffy (if you’re unfamiliar with Jiffy it’s an acrylic but it looks like mohair). It’s fuzzy and cuddly – not at all a warm weather item but I started off working with yarn I had on hand. I’m finishing my 2nd skein of this yarn and about to start a 3rd and I’m only a few inches into the middle section. I think I’ll probably have to buy another skein.

Once completed I’ll post updates, my own photos, and my notes from Ravelry. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

