Finished! Circular Shrug

I am so thrilled that this project is finished and even though I’ve made some newbie mistakes with the fit I plan on wearing this item with pride. Of course, living in Tennessee I probably won’t get a chance to wear this any time soon because it’s hotter than Hades right now but as soon as the weather turns cool I’m pulling this baby out and wrapping it around myself!

My Circular Shrug

Another thing I’m excited about is that I made this with acrylic yarn that’s super soft and wearable and my total cost to make this sweater was less than $10.00. That’s right:  I bought 3 skeins of yarn at a cost of about $2.50 per skein. And I only used a teensy weensy bit of the last skein so I’ll be able to get another project out of the yarn and all for less than $10.00. Cool, huh?

Here are my project notes posted on Ravelry.

Needle – US 9/5.5 mm

Yarn: Hobby Lobby I Love This Yarn! Colorway: Ivory – 3 Skeins (barely used the 3rd skein)

(Note: All photos are clickable to see greater details in the sweater.)

5/22 – Finished! It’s a little bit smaller than I would like. Lessons learned: I should have made the ribbing sections about 2” longer and the middle section about 3” longer to accommodate my larger size. It still fits but it’s shorter than I wanted and the ribbing is streeetttched across my chest. Still … very pleased with myself for having finished my first knitting project. I think I’ll be knitting this again!

5/20 – Middle section completed and about 4 inches of final ribbing done. I am pretty sure I’m going to run out out yarn. I really don’t want to have to buy another skein. I suppose if I do have to buy more then I can either 1) add sleeves to this shrug or 2) make some mittens or slippers or a skinny scarf to gift to someone else.

5/18 – Almost done with the middle section. Yay!

5/16 – 13 inches of middle section finished. I’m only completing a few inches at a time. The rows of purl stitches really kill my fingers and wrist on my left hand. I’ve never had this happen before so I’m surprised by the dull aching. There’s got to be a way to keep this from happening but in the mean time I’m just taking frequent breaks and that is helping.

5/14 – Worked more on the middle section and have about 7 inches of stockinette completed. I’m not in a big hurry to get this done but it’s exciting to know that this is going to be my first knitted garment and will be finished soon.

5/12 – Finished 7 inches of ribbing. I never thought it would end and knowing I have to do it again on the other end isn’t something I’m looking forward to. Hmm. I’m a few inches into the middle section and have decided to speed things along and am doing it in stockinette instead of mock rib.

5/10 – I CO 168 stitches and have about 3 inches of the beginning 2×2 ribbing completed.

Leave a Reply

