Finished: Hubs Scrap Hat aka The Hat So Large It Ate My Head

I used Mary Young Smith’s Super Simple Hat Calculator and cast on using size 3 circular needles and scrap acrylic yarn. Looking back I probably should have used larger needles in say size 7 or 8. This one of the first hats I’ve needle knit (not knit on a loom) and I wasn’t sure what size needles to use. Live and learn, huh?

NOTES:

1/15 – I don’t know if it’s because I don’t think my husband will like what I make him – even though he’s really easy to please – or if it’s because I want it to be extra special but whatever the reason I’ve never knit or crocheted anything for him. I finally decided that the poor boy needs a hat so I asked for him to look through my yarns and see if he liked any colors. Well, I have tons of scraps of acrylic yarn and of course what he picked out was something I only have a little bit of so after we picked out some coordinating colors hub’s only request was that anything I make him wasn’t too “girly.” No problem! 🙂

1/20 – Worked on this some more over the weekend and the past few days. I’d say it’s about 1/3 of the way finished. Maybe it’s because I’m still new at it but knitting is going so much slower for me than crochet.

1/22 – I’m starting on the decrease rows today and should have the hat done tonight but I don’t think hubs will wear this hat and that it will end up either being my hat or given away to a family member living somewhere in a colder part of the world. Reason? Hubs looked over at me while I was knitting today and said, “Hmmm, looks kind of … um … like a Rasta hat. Is that what you had in mind?” Now, hubs is pretty conservative when it comes to color and even though he picked out the colors I’m not sure he realized how they would look together. The hat’s colors do kind of have a Jamaican feel to them but the hat itself is a beanie not a tam or beret. We’ll see what he thinks when it’s finished.

1/23 – Finished this last night. Hubs hasn’t seen the finished project yet (he works nights) so I’m not sure he’ll like it or not. If he doesn’t it’s definitely not going to be mine because it’s HUGE on me. LOL If he likes it I hope it fits him.

1/24 – OK, so the hat fits him but he’s not crazy about it. It does NOT fit me and as you can see in the photos it’s huge. I feel a little bad that this was a disappointment so I’m going to head out and buy some yarn for a special hat just for him. Clearly I can’t allow him to choose the yarn since he picked these colors and wasn’t happy. I guess this shows that he truly doesn’t know squat about how the colors he picks will work together just like he tried to tell me at the start but I completely ignored his warnings. So the lesson to learn here is that any color he might choose does not necessarily guarantee his satisfaction.

Project info

Name

The Hat So Large It Ate My Head aka Hub’s Scraps Hat
Pattern

Craft

Knitting
Made for

husband
Tags

Needle and yarn

Needle

US 3 / 3.25 mm

Notes

1/15 – I don’t know if it’s because I don’t think my husband will like what I make him – even though he’s really easy to please – or if it’s because I want it to be extra special but whatever the reason I’ve never knit or crocheted anything for him. I finally decided that the poor boy needs a hat so I asked for him to look through my yarns and see if he liked any colors. Well, I have tons of scraps of acrylic yarn and of course what he picked out was something I only have a little bit of so after we picked out some coordinating colors hub’s only request was that anything I make him wasn’t too “girly.” No problem! 🙂

1/20 – Worked on this some more over the weekend and the past few days. I’d say it’s about 1/3 of the way finished. Maybe it’s because I’m still new at it but knitting is going so much slower for me than crochet.

1/22 – I’m starting on the decrease rows today and should have the hat done tonight but I don’t think hubs will wear this hat and that it will end up either being my hat or given away to a family member living somewhere in a colder part of the world. Reason? Hubs looked over at me while I was knitting today and said, “Hmmm, looks kind of … um … like a Rasta hat. Is that what you had in mind?” Now, hubs is pretty conservative when it comes to color and even though he picked out the colors I’m not sure he realized how they would look together. The hat’s colors do kind of have a Jamaican feel to them but the hat itself is a beanie not a tam or beret. We’ll see what he thinks when it’s finished.

1/23 – Finished this last night. Hubs hasn’t seen the finished project yet (he works nights) so I’m not sure he’ll like it or not. If he doesn’t it’s definitely not going to be mine because it’s HUGE on me. LOL If he likes it I hope it fits him.

1/24 – OK, so the hat fits him but he’s not crazy about it. It does NOT fit me and as you can see in the photos it’s huge. I feel a little bad that this was a disappointment so I’m going to head out and buy some yarn for a special hat just for him. Clearly I can’t allow him to choose the yarn since he picked these colors and wasn’t happy. I guess this shows that he truly doesn’t know squat about how the colors he picks will work together just like he tried to tell me at the start but I completely ignored his warnings. So the lesson to learn here is that any color he might choose does not necessarily guarantee his satisfaction.

2 thoughts on “Finished: Hubs Scrap Hat aka The Hat So Large It Ate My Head

  1. Pingback: Simple Tweed Hat « Loom Knitting and Crocheting with GretchKal

Leave a Reply

