A Motherload of Yarny Video Goodness

I am still what I consider a new crocheter and an even newer knitter. I just began crocheting this past summer and I’m still trying to teach myself to knit and even though I’m a fast learner I’m still not really doing anything very advanced. Most of my work is made up of simple stitches and shapes. I can follow patterns and I have even written a couple of my own patterns for simple things. For the most part though I’m still in the advanced beginner stage.

My point? I’m still learning. I’ve been borrowing books from the library and reading blogs like they’re going out of style. I almost always find inspiration but I very rarely learn new techniques this way – from reading about it. What ends up happening is that I’ll read about something and then re-read and re-read it again, then work on a project and frog it several times in frustration. I know myself well enough to know that I’m a visual learner which means that hands-on training is perfect for me. Right now this is not very practical considering my budget and schedule. What’s a crafty girl eager to get some learnin’ in her head to do? Well, she heads to Youtube!

I can’t fathom that there’s anyone who hasn’t heard of Youtube so I’m not going to bother describing the site to you. But you might be surprised at the number of crochet, knitting, and looming videos you can find. Can’t figure out how to make a crochet magic ring? Find it on Youtube! How do you do cast on with a knitting loom? Find it on Youtube! How do I use circular knitting needles? Find it on Youtube!

Bottom line: If you’re like me and are a visual learner then I highly recommend running over to Youtube when you’re stumped on a technique. Chances are you’ll find what you’re looking for.

One thought on “A Motherload of Yarny Video Goodness

  1. I’m a visual learner too. I used books with the diagrams when I was learning but still, youtube videos were so much better.

    Try making something without having to give stitches names and doing it the proper way haha

Leave a Reply

