Work In Progress: Big Softie Snood

Example of old school snood

Back when I was a youngster, a snood was a stretchy band with a mesh net on it that held your hair loosly at the nape of your neck. They were popular for about two seconds. The other day I was reading an article about what those in the fashion industry predicted would be the “it” items for the coming years. One such item: the snood. I immediately pictured my above description and envisioned girls looking like they’d just stepped out of a Jane Austen novel.

If you are as clueless as I, please allow me to enlighten you: the international fashion community has decided to take a perfectly good word that already describes a perfectly nice (but maybe a little dated) item and give it a second meaning. Confusing. NOW a snood is also a scarf that call also be worn as a hood.

Purple Peppermint Loop Scarf by MaraBianca @ Etsy.com

Example of modern snood: Purple Peppermint Loop Scarf made by MaraBianca for sale @ Etsy.com

Snoods are very similar to cowls in that they’re worn around the neck, are large and loose, and are joined in the round. I think that the big difference between a cowl and a snood is that a cowl is supposed to be used as a neckwarmer and a snood is meant to be both a neckwarmer and a hood. Personally, I think both words can be used interchangeably.

When I was out yesterday I found some incredibly soft cotton yarn and I’m just improvising a  pattern for my own snood (the hood kind not the hair kind) in half double crochet. I’m making a rectangle about 20″ x 30″ and then I’ll stitch the piece together along the shorter edge. I’ll post pics of the finished project once completed.

I decided to make this since none of my coats have a hood. Yes, yes … I have tons of hats and just as many scarves but it’s nice to have some variety.

6 thoughts on “Work In Progress: Big Softie Snood

  1. Pingback: Status Report « Loom Knitting and Crocheting with GretchKal

  2. Hi,

    That item as photgraphed above is technically called a cowl. I have seen many snoods: ones with bands on them, ones crocheted out of crochet cotton and with ribbon strung around it for adjusting to the head: a la Civil War Era, knitted and crocheted ones with the band, and ones that hang very low to the nape of the neck probably held on with GOBS of hair pins, for I don’t see how they hold on. But those cowls do look comfy when the cold winds blow. We get high winds here in NM but where I’m at, the winter are not like they’re in Santa Fe, where is is much high that I’m at and snows a bit more. But cool enough.

    Also I read somewhere that a snood was simply a headband (no netting) that was worn by young, unmarried women in Scotland in bygone eras.

    • You are probably right about the picture I used in my post showing a cowl and not a snood. If you will re-read my post, you might be able to forgive my confusion. When the fashion industry decides to change the meaning of perfectly good word (in this case snood) then everyone is bound to get confused – especially when so many items around (like cowls, capelets, mobius, etc.) look similar to the “new” item …

    • There wasn’t a pattern. I never finished the snood: I frogged it shortly after starting it. It was going to be a crochet project.

Leave a Reply

