Single Crochet Baby Blanket

Wow, look at how long it’s been since I’ve posted! Sorry, dear readers, but being without an internet connection has kept me from updating. Now that our internet connections is FINALLY up and running, I should be able to update you with my yarn projects more frequently.

I have been crocheting up a storm! Last month I created a very simple, single crochet baby blanket with Red Heart Super Saver yarnusing a size P hook. I did not have a pattern but basically this is a big square using 1 stitch through out (single crochet). I stitched a single crochet border around the edges to give it a more finished look. It’s final measurements are about 32″ x 32″.

DSCF0270

Simple Baby Blanket

DSCF0276

Baby Blanket Unfolded to Full-Size

DSCF0272

Close Up of Stitch Detail

I liked the simplicity of this baby blanket so much that I started another one using Red Heart Super Savor with one strand of a Cream color and another strand of Turquoise. Instead of single crochet I’m doing this one in half double crochet. I’m using a size P hook on this new blanket too.

I’m also working on a baby blanket in single crochet using a very pretty, multi-colored yarn by Yarn Bee Angel Fleece that I bought at Hobby Lobby. It’s a extra-soft and the colors are perfect.

I don’t know why, but these two baby blankets have stalled. For some reason, I cannot motivate myself to finish them. I am going to have to double my efforts! I supposed that I’ll have to find someone to give these blankets to as well. :) I began them with no one in particular in mind. That might explain why I’m not in any hurry to get them done. Maybe I could sell them all on Etsy.com?

12 thoughts on “Single Crochet Baby Blanket

  1. Hi there! Love your pics of the baby blanket. Simple and cute! When I read your post, I thought of you donating your blankets to a worthy cause. I just started my baby blanket and plan to make more before I donate them to blanket4kids.org. I just met the owner, Ron and he is doing a wonderful job of helping the need in his community. You might want to do this as well. !

  2. Pingback: Crochet Basket & Two Baby Blankets « Loom Knitting and Crocheting with GretchKal

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  4. hi. I an expecting my first grandchild. I do not sew or crochet at all.The question that I would like to know is, Do you crochet blankets for others.If so, e-mail me. I will pay what ever you charge. thanks

    • Hi, Eunice! At this time, I am not selling any of my work however I am seriously considering setting up a shop on Etsy so that I can sell a few items and justify all of my yarny exploits! If I set up shop, I’ll post an announcement on my homepage with a link to where you can make purchases. Please feel free to subscribe to my blog to stay updated!

      Thanks!
      Gretchen

  5. Hello can you please tell me how many chains you made to make this simple blanket, I just started and that the only stitch ive masters and im making a blanket for my daughter who having a baby in June.. Thanks Amee

    • Hi, Amee! Please see my response to Arlie G. when asked about the starting chain. This blanket can be made to whatever size you’d want. Using a ruler as a guide, make your chain until it measures as the length you desire (in my example, the finished blanket was 32 inches).

      • Thanks I didn`t know it was that easy.. Do you have a pattern for a baby hat thats done in single stitch… Thanks so much for you response and your help :)

Leave a Reply

