March WIPS

Ah, a new month and new WIPS (works in progress). Here’s an update:

  • I have an rose & gray colored afghan that I’ve pretty much stopped working on because I’m disgusted with the seaming work I’ve done on piecing the first and second panels together. I was about 1/3 of the way completed with the last panel when I stopped. I will finish the afgan but I’ve halted for the time being because I’m not happy with it. Maybe I’m punishing the blanket for looking bad? Lesson learned? If I do another afghan I’m going to buy a Serenity Loom – no seams!
  • serenityloom

    Serenity Loom @ Crafts.com

  • Inspired by the long, skinny scarves made by Buttcupbeadshop at Etsy.com I decided I would try to make one for myself using my spool knitter. I’m loving how this is turning out! I want these to be super long (the inspiration pieces say they’re about 100 inches long) so I still have a long way to go but this is knitting up very quickly so it shouldn’t take too long. The yarn I’m using for this project is Caron Rainbow Dreams in colorway Trade Winds. I love these colors and have actually used this same yarn to make two different cowls for both my co-worker and and myself. I’m excited to finish this and wear it!

dscf0018-1

dscf0019-1

dscf0022-1

  • Also while looking at Etsy I saw a ton of cute, knit shrugs. While looking for a pattern I could only find needle knit patterns which I probably could translate to a loom-knit pattern. It’s basically just knitting a rectangle long enough to go from one arm, across the shoulders, and then down the other arm with seaming edges together to create the arms. Unfortunately for me I don’t needle knit (yet but maybe someday) but I found some guidance at Purling Sprite’s blog that should really help with knitting a shrug on a loom. As I said, this looks simple enough to make. I’m knitting it on the round, yellow Knifty Knitter loom with Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick N Quick in colorway Taupe with just a simple e-wrap knit stitch.

dscf0027-1

2 thoughts on “March WIPS

    • Sorry, you’ll have to be more specific. I wrote about three different projects and I’m not sure which one you are asking about. I will say though that in most all of my looming projects I usually use the simple e-wrap stitch. If I use something else, like knit or purl stitches, then I try to remember to write that in my post.

      Gretchen

Leave a Reply

